PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] After multiple reinstall, booting to rescue -- also nvidia update kills dual rotate

rabarrett
June 10th, 2012, 02:25 AM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to linux.

I installed a dual boot (win xp already there) of ubuntu 12.04 (32bit). Everything was great, but after I updated all programs, my nvidia driver stopped working correctly. Specifically, it no longer recognized there was a 2nd monitor, and even after I found the nvidia settings (separate from Setting's "Display" controls), it could use both monitors, but couldn't rotate (a big problem since I use both in portrait mode).

Searching for solutions on that didn't work, but I figured I would just reinstall ubuntu and not run the update.

The reinstall doesn't seem to work. It just boots to "error: no such device: f890010a-1fb.... grub rescue>"

I CAN use the DVD install disc to boot and run things, but I don't know what to do.

In the meantime, I've tried to reinstall about 10 times (using the "replace current ubuntu" as well as "custom" after deleting the old linux partitions and then making a swap partition and ext4 linux partition assigned to / . That will get it to reinstall, but I still have the "no such device" "grub rescue" problem.

Note: I'm careful to point the new install (on custom) to the drive where I made the ext4 partition, which is /sdb1 (I've pointed to /sdb and /sdb1 but neither seem to solve the problem.) (I'm on /sdb1 because I have an old windows drive I'm using for storage on /sda, but not booting to. My current windows95 installation was booting to the 2nd disk also.

Please let me know if you need anymore information from me.

I appreciate any help.

Richard

(I'd prefer to keep my win95 installation, but I backed up in case I'm forced to delete it.)

Ultimately I'll need to solve my nvidia dual display, rotation problem after I get going again, so if anyone happens to know how to keep the update from killing my working setup, I'll be much obliged.

drs305