PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 12.04 upgrade, can't boot XP from GRUB

krismcb
June 9th, 2012, 06:26 PM
Hi there, I'm a bit of a beginner with ubuntu so excuse lack of technical jargon.

Basically the story is I upgraded to 12.04

Afterwards when I boot the PC, I get a black and white grub and anything I select gives me an error -
error: no such partition

I followed some help on the internet by downloading GRUB2 iso and burining it to CD.

I go into my BIOS to select the cd/dvd drive to be the 1st boot selection and surprise its not there.
The only device my bios recognizes is the HDD that ubuntu is installed on.
It doesn't recognize the 2nd HDD that WinXP is installed on.
Out of curiosity I disconnect the WinXP HDD and upon another boot into BIOS,
It now sees the cd/dvd drive as well as ubuntu HDD... Why is this?!

Carrying on....

I boot from my cd/dvd drive and run the grub2 bootloader until I manage to boot into Ubuntu again.

From here I installed the boot repair and ran the recommended repair.

It tells me to boot again so I do, when the PC is shutting down the screen goes black with a lot of white code
it scrolls down once or twice then just freezes there. So far its hanging there for around 15mins now....

Also at one point when I was in Ubuntu running other updates I was prompted to select between two locations for the grub to be installed,
One location was on the HDD that ubuntu is installed on and the other was /sda1/ and I always remember when I selected WinXp from grub, that beside it it said /sda1
I choose both selections to be sure but it froze up on me...

Any help at all would be perfect. Thanks

oldfred
June 9th, 2012, 09:25 PM
Welcome to the forums.

If you installed grub to the Windows partition you may have overwritten essential Windows boot code. NTFS keeps Windows boot code in the partition boot sector or PBR. It can be easily repaired if you only did it once, but best if we confirm first.