PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.04 - Start Menu SImilar to Ubuntu 10.04

ramsforums
June 9th, 2012, 12:30 AM
Hello,

I am not an expert but I am using 10.04 for some time. Recently we got a new desktop i7 with 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD etc, we want to install one open source CRM solution and run.

I have installed Ubutu 12.04 as it is new and LTS. I found very confusing to access menu items and application. In some case I do not know how to access certain application as it is not shown in standard side bar.

Request your help with the following.

1. How do I make changes or install another module so that I can use Ubuntu 12.04 with Menu, application access similar to Ubuntu 10.04.

2. If It is not possible or needs lots of programming etc, then I don't mind switching to another flavour of Ubuntu. Can I request you to recommend one Linux version which uses Ubuntu 12.04 LTS base. Please note that my PC is new and I do not have any resource constraint issue. What I need is compatibility with hardware and I should able to install all application which can run under Ubuntu 12.04.

Thank you and appreciate.
:)

The Cog
June 9th, 2012, 12:37 AM
Can I suggest Xubuntu? It's quite similar to the older Gnome Ubuntus. I think Linux Mint might also be worth a try, with their new cinnamon desktop, although I read it's still a little buggy ( haven't tried it myself so I'm only passing on rumours).

diesch
June 9th, 2012, 12:39 AM
ClassicMenu Indicator (http://www.florian-diesch.de/software/classicmenu-indicator/) gives you a menu similar to the one in 10.04

ramsforums
June 9th, 2012, 12:48 AM
Can I suggest Xubuntu? It's quite similar to the older Gnome Ubuntus. I think Linux Mint might also be worth a try, with their new cinnamon desktop, although I read it's still a little buggy ( haven't tried it myself so I'm only passing on rumours).