PDA

View Full Version : My thoughts on Ubuntu and Canonical

Tombgeek
June 8th, 2012, 07:38 PM
Hi there.

I just thought I'd share a few thoughts on a few thoughts. I'm a guy that uses both Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7, simply because I love both (though I am still a bit of a novice when it comes to Linux). However, I would eventually like to go to Ubuntu exclusively because I don't like the way Microsoft is going and I don't want to latch on Windows 7 forever, nor do I want to go to Apple. Here are my thoughts, as a user of both systems. And I would like to hear your opinions. Just a warning, this could be long.

Firstly, I think Canonical is being a bit too conservative in the tech world. Back when the Windows Vista controversy was heating up, I felt that Canonical should have taken advantage of Microsoft's failure and try to promote Ubuntu to the mainstream market. It could've been met with success, I believe. After all, Apple took advantage of Microsoft's failure and what happened? A lot of people bought a Mac. I felt that a lot of people could have saved themselves money by simply downloading Ubuntu (or even purchasing a CD, but I'll get to that in a second). Now that Windows 8 is creating a huge divide in the market (especially as it seems that developing software for Windows 8 will be a nightmare), I think that Canonical should act now and begin promoting Ubuntu even more so than they're doing now.