PDA

View Full Version : The thrill is gone (Mac)

rmcellig
June 6th, 2012, 05:57 PM
Well I guess the day was inevitable when my iMac and Macs in general just don't do it for me anymore. I have been using Macs since 1988. As I discovered Linux and the various distros out there, I found myself using Linux more and more.

I just installed a clean copy of Snow Leopard on my iMac because Lion is not a good match for my particular model (late 2006 24" iMac).

Seems as though all I use it for these days is to watch movies and videos. I don't have a large external monitor.Everything else I can do with Linux even on older 12 year old Dell desktops. Blows me away every day the possibilities. They seem to never end.

Right now I am using Zorin 5.1 and really like it! If I could use my iMac 100% Linux I would.

blackbird34
June 6th, 2012, 06:17 PM
Couldn't you dual boot it?

I agree with you, i recently switched from mac (my laptop was stolen) to Linux and the degree to which you can customize Linux, or make it act like a mac, is insane... :D

rmcellig
June 6th, 2012, 06:23 PM
I tried dual booting a while back. Worked great except for two important things. The built in isight camera does not seem to work in Linux. More importantly, the audio in doesn't work in linux. I have a radio connected to my iMac so that I can record my radio shows from it. Works fine in the Mac environment but not Linux. If I could resolve these problems, my Mac days are over.

ade234uk
June 6th, 2012, 06:25 PM
When Mac was on the G5 processor I was actually saving up for the Silver Tower. I even managed to quit to smoking. That was going to be my reward for all the money I saved. Then Mac changed to Intel, for me that is when Mac lost its appeal. Also Ubuntu just seemed to be getting better and better and it felt kind of pointless.

rmcellig
June 6th, 2012, 06:28 PM
Good point. I felt the same, and now that Linux seems to be developing further at a faster pace, that's a good thing!

eyeofliberty