PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unformatted free space become Unavailable after creating swap space or /boot

javanoob
June 4th, 2012, 09:21 PM
Hi guys,

I am new to Ubuntu and this is my 1st time.
Appreciate if you guys can guide me along and thank you for the kind patience in reading through my problem.

1) I have a 100TB harddisk which is currently install with Window 7.

2) I went to disk management to shrink the volume giving me about 480G of freespace.

3) With this freespace available, i went on to put in the Ubuntu installation CD , restart my laptop and boot from the CD

4) in the installation portion, i saw the unformatted free space, that was make available earlier during the shrink operation at 2).

5) so i went on to click on the free space and choose the "Add"
Type -> Logical
New partition size -> 16000mb
Location -> Beginning
Use as : Swap
OK

6) The above is done and now i need to create a /boot partition
So again i click on NEW

Q1) why cant i choose the partition type anymore (there is no option for me to choose between Primary or Logical)

Size -> 100MB
Use as -> Ext4
Mount Point -> /boot

-------------------------------------------------------

You can see that i am creating the partitions in the following order
1) swap (logical) -> /boot (not choosable) -> / (not choosable)

However, if i turn the order around and create the / partition 1st

Add
Type for new partition -> Primary
New parition size -> 450000 (i have about 20000 left for swap and /boot)
Location for new partition -> Beginning
Use as -> Ext4
Mount Point -> /

Q2) After creating this, the remaining 20000MB become unusable , why ?!

Q3) What is the difference between choosing beginning and end for the parameter -> Location of new partition

-----------

Hope to hear advices from the great guys in the ubuntu forum

Thanks!:(

oldfred
June 4th, 2012, 09:28 PM