PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] nm-applet missing after installing ubuntu under virtualboc



Kompost
June 4th, 2012, 04:43 PM
After installing Ubuntu under VirtualBox the nm-applet is missing.

I already tried to restart the applet but nothing has happened. Any suggestions?


jonas@jonas-laptop:~$ kill nm-applet
bash: kill: nm-applet: arguments must be process or job IDs
jonas@jonas-laptop:~$ kill 2649
jonas@jonas-laptop:~$ sudo nm-applet


** (nm-applet:2740): WARNING **: Could not initialize NMClient /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager: The name org.freedesktop.NetworkManager was not provided by any .service files
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area

** (nm-applet:2740): WARNING **: Failed to register as an agent: (2) The name org.freedesktop.NetworkManager was not provided by any .service files
** Message: using fallback from indicator to GtkStatusIcon

(nm-applet:2740): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_scale_simple: assertion `dest_width > 0' failed
** Message: Starting applet secret agent because GNOME Shell disappeared

** (nm-applet:2740): WARNING **: Failed to register as an agent: (2) The name org.freedesktop.NetworkManager was not provided by any .service files

Kompost
June 5th, 2012, 07:57 AM
No idea anyone?

Kompost
June 6th, 2012, 10:04 AM
So do I really need to reinstall Ubuntu in order get my nm-applet back? :(

danielhayes
June 6th, 2012, 10:27 AM
I am having the same problem.

My system crashed (12.04 64bit Ubuntu) and after a reboot my nm-applet is missing and I can no longer get online.

any help is much appreciated.

danielhayes
June 6th, 2012, 10:32 AM
Just noticing slight difference in the error mesage from the Original poster.

--> Could not initialize NMClient /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager: The name org.freedesktop.NetworkManager was not provided by any .service files
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area

Many Thanks

Kompost
June 6th, 2012, 05:48 PM
Please, doesn't anybody has an idead? My computer is just worth nothing without working internet ... :(

Kompost
June 10th, 2012, 10:17 AM
I found a solution. Edit /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf to

[main] plugins=ifupdown,keyfile dns=dnsmasq

[ifupdown] managed=false