PDA

View Full Version : How to teach an Ubuntu noob

unitedanarchy
June 4th, 2012, 10:15 AM
I got my friend Ubuntu, And he is a total noob. I really can't help him anymore because it is pretty much pointless, Even if we go through something 100 times he still doesn't know how to do it. It's like he is a proxy, And I am just using him to type the commands and things like that, He remembers NOTHING. I need some way to teach him, He expects everything to instantly work, And everything to have a GUI and all that stuff. I don't know how to explain to him that easy doesn't mean good, And games aren't made to be bad, And there is no "best" linux distro, And all that kind of stuff. I really just need some youtube channel or ebook or something I can direct him to, Something he can use to learn about this stuff. A ebook might be a bad idea for him though depending on how it is written, A series of videos would probably be best, Or a application that teaches him stuff.

nicolasforum89
June 4th, 2012, 10:19 AM
I guess he should start first to feel comfortable with the environment (windows, launch softwares, etc).

If he is coming from Windows he will need probably some adaptation. However having taught myself how to use Linux to elders, I can tell you that it is easier to use than windows.

Of course you have to forget all customizations or home made coding.

Ubuntu is really one of the best distribution to start in Linux.

And congratulations to have chosen an open source environment for your friend.

oldos2er
June 4th, 2012, 03:40 PM
Moved to Community Cafe.

whatthefunk
June 4th, 2012, 03:43 PM
Maybe just let him firgure it out for himself? Everything I learned about Linux I learned on my own as the need arrived. What exactly are you trying to teach him?

Basher101
June 4th, 2012, 03:49 PM
Maybe just let him firgure it out for himself?

"Teach a man the way of the sword, and he will become a soldier.
Teach a man to forge swords, and he will raise an army"

whatthefunk