PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Failed hibernate with encrypted swap

inneedofsomehelp
June 3rd, 2012, 04:56 PM
Hi all,

I have an encrypted home partition, and therefore also swap. I tried to install 'hibernate' the other day, forgetting that this would not work with encrypted swap. The machine went into hibernation and now when I try to restart the machine, it just sits at the loading screen (showing the 5 scrolling dots) endlessly...

I am very new to linux, so am pretty clueless but have followed several posts on here and elsewhere from google to try to fix this. If I edit the boot command to add 'noresume', then I can get back in - but the next time I restart, I have the same problem. I have tried unmounting the swap and re-making it, but the problem persists. I guess there must be a flag somewhere telling the system that it has a saved state - but I can't seem to reset this.

Can anyone give me any clues??

Thanks!

hictio
June 3rd, 2012, 06:22 PM
On what hardware are you running?
I have been using an encrypted $HOME before and all thru Lucid Lynx on laptops (mostly Thinkpads) and I never had any issue going in and back from either suspend or hibernate.

inneedofsomehelp
June 4th, 2012, 11:07 AM
I am on a Lenovo z370 laptop. I have read several places that hibernate with an encrypted swap would require fixing the encryption key. So I get why it didn't work. But now that I have cleared swap, etc I don't know why it still thinks there is a hibernation image to restore. Surely on a successful shutdown, it should clear that?

Toz
June 4th, 2012, 11:42 AM
Try booting once with the noresume kernel parameter to disable the resume cycle and restore the swap space.

inneedofsomehelp
June 4th, 2012, 11:50 AM
Yes, that is what I have done. It is the only way I can boot again.

However, everything I have tried to do to restore the swap has not fixed the root problem, because at the next boot, it requires noresume again.