PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] gnome shell calendar applet won't sync

theigmo87
June 1st, 2012, 10:32 PM
I have ubuntu 12.04 with gnome shell 3.4.1 installed. I have tried everything I can find online but I cannot get the gnome shell calendar applet to display any events. I have my Google account set up in the online accounts settings. I installed Evolution, and my google calendar syncs perfectly on there. Evolution is the default calendar application. I've tried changing the time zones as that was a bug I found, but that didn't help. It just says that no events are scheduled even though I created an event for tomorrow.

Any ideas? I don't know which logs to put on here, so let me know what is needed. I'm not new to linux, but I'm not an expert by any means, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

lovalloj
June 2nd, 2012, 12:08 AM
This worked for me, without Evolution!!!
Requires a google account to sync though.

http://www.webupd8.org/2011/09/google-calendar-gnome-shell-integration.html

theigmo87
June 2nd, 2012, 02:34 AM
i've tried that. for some reason some of the programs in my startup applications won't automatically start, such as this and my guake terminal. so because of that this won't work, and i'd really just prefer to sort out this bug instead of using a workaround. thanks for your suggestion though. anyone else?

hictio
June 2nd, 2012, 03:12 AM
That's pretty weird, mine syncs Ok with Google Calendar, from day one... Without even setting up the Online Account thingy with my Google data; everything done thru Evolution's configuration.

theigmo87
June 2nd, 2012, 04:41 PM
I'll try deleting my online account stuff then just setting it up in evolution. I had it working in 11.10 and since I upgraded to 12.04 it hasn't worked, but I'll give it a shot. If not, I may just make my own shell extension

theigmo87
June 2nd, 2012, 05:00 PM