PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 1204 update failed

leedsal
May 24th, 2012, 09:15 PM
Hi everyone.

I have no great knowledge of UBUNTU and have come unstuck updating from 11-10 to 12-04. I have previously downloaded new systems onto a cd and updated my computer from the cd. On this occaision I decided to download 12-04 from the software centre direct. The download stopped before completion and the system just froze. I am now unable to start the computer. I have tried to use a live cd but this won't load either.

I'd be most grateful if anyone can help.

Cheers

Leedsal

QIII
May 24th, 2012, 09:32 PM
Can you explain what you mean by "unable to start the computer"?

recap
May 24th, 2012, 09:37 PM
Sounds like hardware failure...?

leedsal
May 24th, 2012, 09:43 PM
Hi,

Thanks for getting back. When I attempt to start the computer it goe to a screen that has a heading-

GNU GRUB version 1.99-12ubuntu5.

Below this I have options of-

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-17-generic (recovery mode)
Previous Linux versions
Memory test (memtest86+)
Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)

There are instructions at bottom of screen telling me to select one of the above

QIII
May 24th, 2012, 09:52 PM
If there is not one above the one that says "recovery mode", select previous versions and let us know what happens.

Use the arrow keys on your keyboard.

leedsal
May 24th, 2012, 10:00 PM
Hi QIII,

My mistake, selected the top option. Now have purple screen. In the middle of screen it says ubuntu, underneath this writing is 5 dots that change in colour from white to red in succession

QIII
May 24th, 2012, 10:08 PM
And that goes on indefinitely?

I suspect you attempted to reinstall without first disabling or un-installing your video driver.

Start again and select recovery mode. When you get there, you should have a choice to continue booting. Select that.