PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Setting up Canon LBP2900 printer in 64 bit Xubuntu

forbajato
May 24th, 2012, 08:28 AM
Just started using 64 bit Xubuntu and can't get my printer to work. I downloaded the drivers as explained here (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CanonCaptDrv190) but in the 64bit folder there is only rpms of the drivers. Is there another place to get debs of the drivers or a way to change rpms to debs? Can I just install the 32bit debs? This is my first foray into 64bit Linux and I am still learning what is possible.

thomas

Sivella
May 24th, 2012, 03:02 PM
Hello,

The tutorial (part: 12.04) is only applicable for 32bits.
Canon don't provide DEB drivers for 64bits.

For a LBP2900, the simplest way is to download drivers from the PPA mickael-gruz.
The 64bits Maverick version works well with 12.04.

1) Purge any Canon drivers installed :

sudo apt-get purge cndrvcups*2) Download and install transitional package "gs-esp" :
http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/gs-esp
3) Download and install from the PPA depot the 2 packages :
https://launchpad.net/~michael-gruz/+archive/test/+build/2216444/+files/cndrvcups-common_2.20-1ubuntu4_amd64.deb (https://launchpad.net/%7Emichael-gruz/+archive/test/+build/2216444/+files/cndrvcups-common_2.20-1ubuntu4_amd64.deb)

https://launchpad.net/~michael-gruz/+archive/test/+build/2216478/+files/cndrvcups-capt_2.20-1ubuntu3_amd64.deb (https://launchpad.net/%7Emichael-gruz/+archive/test/+build/2216478/+files/cndrvcups-capt_2.20-1ubuntu3_amd64.deb)

Install first cndrvcups-common.
4) See my post #5 http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1983091
Starting at point#1 and of course change LBP6300 with LBP2900
As you can see 64bits install is more complicated than 32bits but it works.
Come back if you have any question/problem.
If every things work I will explain how to manage ccpd daemon ;)

Good luck.

forbajato
May 25th, 2012, 02:08 AM
For others following Sivella's 64bit Canon printer driver install tutorial ...