PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Incorrect cpu speed



davesbrain
May 24th, 2012, 02:31 AM
This doesn't look right. Also, XP reports it as .999. I thought it was a 2.4.


davejr@desktop:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 12
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 1000.000
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow up
bogomips : 1999.68
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp

davejr@desktop:~$

jjiggens
May 24th, 2012, 02:35 AM
its just seeing the current clock rate. the cpu throttles down at idol.

if you want proof. tax your cpu with a lot of work and run the same command. you will see.

my i5 2.8 reports as a 800mhz with the same command.

matt_symes
May 24th, 2012, 02:39 AM
Hi

Does your chip have scaling frequencies ?

Open a terminal and type


cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

and


cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

Post the results back here by copying and pasting from the terminal.

Kind regards

davesbrain
May 24th, 2012, 03:07 AM
I've been reading it's most likely the cool&quiet. Pretty unnerving. ](*,) Wondering if I should 'attempt' a bios upgrade.(to gain some options I don't currently have)
Specs are Biostar K8VGA-M mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
2GB DDR-400

...and the results you asked for:

davejr@desktop:~$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
2400000 2200000 2000000 1800000 1000000
davejr@desktop:~$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
1000000
davejr@desktop:~$

davesbrain
May 24th, 2012, 04:45 AM
JJiggens is right. Couple webtabs open and a streaming Hulu. Now reporting as 2400.


davejr@desktop:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 12
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 2400.000
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow up
bogomips : 4799.23
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp

davejr@desktop:~$


But thank you guys anyways.

matt_symes
May 24th, 2012, 11:44 AM
Hi


I've been reading it's most likely the cool&quiet. Pretty unnerving. ](*,) Wondering if I should 'attempt' a bios upgrade.(to gain some options I don't currently have)
Specs are Biostar K8VGA-M mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
2GB DDR-400

...and the results you asked for:

davejr@desktop:~$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
2400000 2200000 2000000 1800000 1000000
davejr@desktop:~$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
1000000
davejr@desktop:~$


Yep. The frequencies are there. It is just scaling down on the work load you were using at the time when you first checked /proc/cpuinfo.

You can change to the performance governor if you want. That should run at maximum clock speed but at reduced battery life and is not really worth it.

Take a look at this


matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
% cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors
conservative ondemand userspace powersave performance
matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
% cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
ondemand
matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
% cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
800000
800000
matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
% echo performance | sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor
[sudo] password for matthew:
performance
matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
% cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
2000000
2000000
matthew@matthew-Aspire-7540 ~/my_storage/linux-3.4.0-3.7
%


You can change the governor you want by editing /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor.

Editing the running governor this will way not persist after reboots though.

As for your BIOS update, be careful. I only update a BIOS when i _really_ need to. I have created some bricks in the past :)

EDIT: You edited your post about the BIOS update ?

Kind regards

davesbrain
May 25th, 2012, 04:55 PM
Thank you for that tip on the governor. I think I'll leave it alone and just use it as is. I 'guess' it's a neat feature that would prolong the life of the cpu.

As for the bios, I have NOT updated it and I'm not sure I will. Yea, I know, it's a biggie. I was sold a 'brick from hosed bios update' for dirt cheap a long time ago. I found a guy on Ebay that would send you a new chip, with proper bios for $10 plus your old chip as a core trade. Worked out pretty good and that Asus A7V was saved. :D

*the edit I inserted was just the Thank You towards you guys for the help.