PDA

View Full Version : OpenGL and DirectX

rasmus91
May 23rd, 2012, 03:45 PM
Hello everyone.

I am a gamer, i have a highend desktop computer i use for gaming, i, however also have this laptop that i use with Ubuntu only. It has always been a mystery to me why there are so many games that do not use OpenGL, but only DirectX.

I understand why Microsoft created it, thats not hard. But i would like to know some of the pros and cons for each. OpenGL is obviously supported on multiple platforms. but other than that im really not all that sure about it. Why does people create their games for DirectX and not OpenGL? wouldn't it be easier to port games if they used OpenGL?

Im a student on Aalborg university, planning to soon start creating the Design document of a game that will be my first RPG (and real computer game) ever created. It will most likely take a long time, as it will be a spare time project. and i would like it to run on my laptop, that is, in Ubuntu.

But say i wanted it to run in windows only, what should i choose, DirectX or OpenGL?

(i know this may not sound very promising, but I'm a quick learner, and only in the beginning of my time here. As i progress with this project i will learn all the things i need to, to make this possible, i might as well add that this is no promise of a free game, not because the game wouldn't be free, but because i am not of the timeframe, or if it will ever be released. if it will be released, it will probably be under some Open Source License to give something back to the community)

roelforg
May 23rd, 2012, 04:13 PM
In windows?
DirectX
Because it can take advantage of the "undocumented" api's in the kernel and it'll be updated to support a new win32 api before the api even releases (courtesy of microsoft being behind it), making it always on the bleading edge.
Projects like OpenGL need some time to get a new api implemented and tested, in the mean time people want games that can take full advantage of their system.