PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Upgraded to obsolete packages

jw1949
May 23rd, 2012, 09:49 AM
12.04 was fine from USB stick, but when (clean) installed is giving a few problems:

- no window controls
- no side launcher
- Compiz closed unexpectedly

After the Compiz error, system says there are obsolete packages installed, including Unity, compiz-core, compiz and quite a few others and suggests that I update.

I'm a novice with command line and can't get one anyway - all I can do is browse folders with Nautilus (altF2 does no appear to work). Could someone please guide me to

(1) get a terminal running
(2) do a software update
(3) recover the launcher bar
(4) reinstate the window controls

Thanks in advance

wilee-nilee
May 23rd, 2012, 09:54 AM
12.04 was fine from USB stick, but when (clean) installed is giving a few problems:

- no window controls
- no side launcher
- Compiz closed unexpectedly

After the Compiz error, system says there are obsolete packages installed, including Unity, compiz-core, compiz and quite a few others and suggests that I update.

I'm a novice with command line and can't get one anyway - all I can do is browse folders with Nautilus (altF2 does no appear to work). Could someone please guide me to

(1) get a terminal running
(2) do a software update
(3) recover the launcher bar
(4) reinstate the window controls

Thanks in advance

Did you install the actual release or a development version?

Did you look for the 2d version in the login, using the gear next to the line for the password?

jw1949
May 23rd, 2012, 01:05 PM
It was the actual release - I downloaded again yesterday.

At the login, I took the Ubuntu option, not the 2d - I will try that and post back.

jw1949
May 23rd, 2012, 03:20 PM
This seems to work well, thank you. Now why didn't I know that ?:KS

wilee-nilee
May 23rd, 2012, 05:23 PM
This seems to work well, thank you. Now why didn't I know that ?:KS