PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help "Forcing" Ubuntu 12.04 LTS to Newest build

datfireflyfan
May 23rd, 2012, 04:21 AM
I am trying to get my current build from 12.04 LTS i386 to either the newest build (don't necessarily need LTS, not a business application) or 12.04 LTS in the amd64 flavor.

Let me explain, I downloaded the "recommended" version back on version 11.10, even though i had a 64-bit board and processor, with >4GB ram. i would like to get to amd64 without reloading the machine if possible. not sure what upgrade path to take.

i have some knowledge of terminal commands, however step by step instructions would be best. If this upgrade is not possible, and i have to re-image the machine than so be it, but i had just gotten my stuff installed and cozy here, and would prefer to update the moving bits while leaving file structures intact.

maybe this can't be done, but i thought i would check with people first.

jmore9
May 23rd, 2012, 04:28 AM
12.04 LTS means long term support. The next " newest " version will be 12.10 which is under development now. The 12.04 LTS goes for i think i may be wrong but about 5 or 6 years of support, thats why called LTS.

My own experience is if i want to get to 64bit i always have to do a reinstall. Never been able to change the 32bit to 64bit .

Hope that helps a little.

fantab
May 23rd, 2012, 04:29 AM
Let me explain, I downloaded the "recommended" version back on version 11.10, even though i had a 64-bit board and processor, with >4GB ram. i would like to get to amd64 without reloading the machine if possible. not sure what upgrade path to take.

You can't. You have do a clean install of 64bit version.

jadtech
May 23rd, 2012, 04:49 AM