PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade from 11.10 to 12.04 Failed on my Laptop

sonicrock786
May 21st, 2012, 12:15 PM
Today when I logged in to my system I have got prompt to upgrade my system and I thought let me upgrade it.

When I did it, it took long time to download all the packages and then started installing.

I was watching everything it was doing in terminal window and after some time, It said installation/setup halted due to too many errors and it was asking me to reboot the computer.

I reboot the system and this time on my log on screen, I can not see any small icons e.g. language, power option icons.

When I logged in to my account, I can only see blank screen and nothing else. I tried Ctrl + Alt + Del to log off and shut it down.

What should I do in this situation ? How can I repair and get it back to normal.

I AM A NOOB AT UBUNTU.

My pc is a SONY VAIO laptop with Win 7 x64 Installed as primary OS and I have installed Ubuntu on different partition but as Windows Program. I installed Ubuntu from Windows. In case it helps.

I am currently running Win7 to use my laptop but I still want to have my Ubuntu back.

Please help me. Thanks in advance.

sonicrock786
May 21st, 2012, 01:30 PM
Please help me so that at least I can get backup of my data and delete and reinstall whole ubuntu from beginning if there isn't any other way to get it back to normal.

Thanks.

sonicrock786
May 21st, 2012, 04:32 PM
Seriously ?? No one ???

cortman
May 21st, 2012, 04:52 PM
We're all volunteers here. Be patient. :)

Recovering your data and reinstalling Ubuntu should be very simple. Boot from an Ubuntu 12.04 LiveCD (select "Try Ubuntu" at the first screen when booting) and you'll have a complete Ubuntu desktop running off the CD. Copy your files from the laptop HDD to a flash drive or external HDD. Make sure you get everything you want off, then install Ubuntu 12.04. Make sure you select to replace the previous Ubuntu installations so you don't wipe out Windows.