PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] How to choose desktop session in Lubuntu

nigelhinton
May 21st, 2012, 11:48 AM
Hello,

Just started using Lubuntu and it got me out of pickle as an upgrade to Ubuntu meant no Wine working for my key app and no TV too!

Lubuntu gave me both of these OOTB for which I am eternally grateful.

Need to install Fluxbox as I like it's immediate configurability and also will overcome the documented bug whereby Task Bar crashes when used with PCmanFM and several LibreOffice spreadsheets. (really disruptive).

Tried to install tint2 as a short-term fix but this just screwed up my taskbar area.

With Ubuntu just select a desktop using the login screen and then reboot. Can't find similar with Lubuntu. Tried to set up in etc/xdg/xsession/Lubuntu/desktop.conf but not worked.

Is there a configuration guide for Lubuntu which covers how to select alternative desktops as per gdm in Ubuntu?

Any help gratefully received (I'm not technical but not afraid to use the CLI).

nothingspecial
May 21st, 2012, 11:52 AM
Question moved to it's own thread.

nigelhinton
May 22nd, 2012, 11:17 AM
what does this mean?

is it meant to be useful?

nothingspecial
May 22nd, 2012, 11:39 AM
what does this mean?

is it meant to be useful?

Moving your question out of a gigantic thread that had nothing to do with your issue was supposed to be useful, yes. :)

nigelhinton
May 22nd, 2012, 05:03 PM
Moving your question out of a gigantic thread that had nothing to do with your issue was supposed to be useful, yes. :)

Supercilious - if it was in the wrong place then tell me and I'll remember for the future rather than provide petty, useless 'quotes'.
Sarcasm is usually the retreat of the social inadequate.

If you are 'moderating' this forum then you don't set a very receptive tone - particularly for those new to the forum.

It's a simple question which I'll repeat: