PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Partitioning difficulties

AnonymousJustified
May 17th, 2012, 02:23 AM
Hello. I am planning to double-boot Ubuntu from my Windows XP, and evantually, if I like it enough, remove Windows entirely and use WINE for critical points of my current Windows setup.
But for now, I'm just struggling through the install process. I am typing this through the trial OS loaded on the Ubuntu disk. I know it will work with my computer, but I'm having trouble partitioning properly.
The simple issue is that it simply isn't allowing me to allocate my free space to a separate partition.
I am attempting to use Gparter to partition my free space from Windows. This is my first attempt at doing something like this, so I may be missing a step.

Thank you for your time.

VMC
May 17th, 2012, 02:39 AM
It would be helpful if we can see how your hard drive is setup right now then advise on how to proceed.

One thing I would do is shrink down Windows and add linux partitions after Windows. You will need at least 1 partition for linux and you should have another partition for swap space.

The problem with windows is it like to have the first partition. Which is ok. linux is picky.

What I always want to see first is the layout. So if you could, download bootinfoscript. Run it as super user from you livecd. It will dump a file called RESULTS.txt. bring that back here so we can see how your currently partitioned and size of hard drive.

see my blue link below for location of bootinfoscript. Go HERE (http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/) for a brief example on how to run it. Note the name has changed to bootinfoscript and not boot_info_script.sh.

AnonymousJustified
May 17th, 2012, 03:05 AM
It would be helpful if we can see how your hard drive is setup right now then advise on how to proceed.