PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Compiz - Unity crash

praveenkumarpon
May 16th, 2012, 05:11 PM
Hi, I am new to Ubuntu, sorry if I didn't get some Ubuntu terms right.
I did something with Compiz while customizing and hence the Unity taskbar, Unity dock crashed. Nothing is on the screen except the wallpaper.
Restart didnt help.

Now I'm using Gnome by changing it on the login screen. Comfortable with the Unity 2D shell available in Gnome.

Will the crash of Unity affect Ubuntu? Since I'm comfortable with using Gnome now, and since I may not be able to do some complex fixes to resurrect Unity, can I leave it as such?

Please advice,
Thankyou.

grahammechanical
May 16th, 2012, 07:45 PM
You can carry on using Ubuntu 2D as it does not use Compiz as the window manager but Metacity.

What you can do when you are in Ubuntu 2D is open Compiz Configuration Settings Manager (CCSM) and try to undo what you changed. That may put things right.

Regards.

BLewis
May 16th, 2012, 08:00 PM
Extra stuff:

Long time Ubuntu user (including Compiz and many dev builds and I have used Ubuntu since around 2008). First time I have searched the forums to contribute, but here goes :) :

If you have problems with Unity and don't mind losing the Unity config (i.e. transparency and all the rest, and note, I don't mean permanently, I mean your current settings, this basically just does a restore):

Just run this either in the application called terminal in the dash or by pressing Ctrl Alt T to launch that terminal or Alt F2 and then type:

unity --reset

KEY:

which should reset unity. Although, since it seems you might not be able to do any of these without Unity, you can just press Ctrl Alt F1 (or any F-number, these are known as TTY 1, TTY 2, etc.) and login with your username and password and then run:

DISPLAY=:0

and then run unity --reset like I said before. (The display bit just means that while you aren't on an actual UI area, you want it to affect that...)

Extra stuff: