PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No boot into Windows Vista after installing Ubuntu



listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 07:10 PM
Not sure exactly how to post this...

I installed Ubuntu 12.04 Precise alongside Windows Vista Home Premium.

I partitioned my 320gb hdd to allow 20gb to Ubuntu.

My computer will not let me load into vista now. I'm not sure what I did, but I am able to see it is still there, or so I'm assuming, I have gparted installed, but Im not sure how to use it. When I open gparted I can see all the drives and my primary hdd with windows vista and ubuntu on it.

How do I go about getting my Boot menu to allow me to choose between vista and ubuntu again?

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 07:19 PM
In ubuntu run


sudo update-grubIf windows does not show then run these commands and post the result.txt that will appear in your home in the thread.


wget -O bootinfoscript 'http://bootinfoscript.git.sourceforge.net/git/gitweb.cgi?p=bootinfoscript/bootinfoscript;a=blob_plain;f=bootinfoscript;hb=HE AD'
chmod a+x bootinfoscript
sudo bash bootinfoscript

listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 09:15 PM
Boot Info Script 0.61 [1 April 2012]


============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

=> Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda and looks at sector 1 of
the same hard drive for core.img. core.img is at this location and looks
in partition 5 for /boot/grub.

sda1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7: NTFS
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System: Windows Vista
Boot files: /bootmgr /Boot/BCD /Windows/System32/winload.exe

sda2: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7: NTFS
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System:
Boot files: /bootmgr /boot/bcd

sda3: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: Extended Partition
Boot sector type: Unknown
Boot sector info:

sda5: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ext4
Boot sector type: Grub2 (v1.99)
Boot sector info: Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the boot sector of sda5
and looks at sector 590223592 of the same hard drive
for core.img, but core.img can not be found at this
location.
Operating System: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS
Boot files: /boot/grub/grub.cfg /etc/fstab /boot/grub/core.img

sda6: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: swap
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:

sda4: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ext4
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:
Operating System:
Boot files:

============================ Drive/Partition Info: =============================

Drive: sda __________________________________________________ ___________________

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

/dev/sda1 63 354,289,663 354,289,601 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
/dev/sda2 601,473,600 625,137,344 23,663,745 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
/dev/sda3 560,580,606 601,473,023 40,892,418 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 560,580,608 595,447,807 34,867,200 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 595,449,856 601,473,023 6,023,168 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda4 354,297,510 560,572,109 206,274,600 83 Linux


"blkid" output: __________________________________________________ ______________

Device UUID TYPE LABEL

/dev/sda1 F0360CD9360CA328 ntfs COMPAQ
/dev/sda2 949CA48C9CA46A86 ntfs FACTORY_IMAGE
/dev/sda4 4fc0b680-0235-4846-8766-689c5efbf13f ext4
/dev/sda5 ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f ext4
/dev/sda6 53d90de4-294d-461c-8e46-76d60050e808 swap
/dev/sr0 iso9660 Ubuntu 12.04 LTS i386

================================ Mount points: =================================

Device Mount_Point Type Options

/dev/sda5 / ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
/dev/sr0 /media/Ubuntu 12.04 LTS i386 iso9660 (ro,nosuid,nodev,uid=1000,gid=1000,iocharset=utf8, mode=0400,dmode=0500,uhelper=udisks)


=========================== sda5/boot/grub/grub.cfg: ===========================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
set have_grubenv=true
load_env
fi
set default="2"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
save_env saved_entry
set prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
saved_entry="${chosen}"
save_env saved_entry
fi
}

function recordfail {
set recordfail=1
if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
}

function load_video {
insmod vbe
insmod vga
insmod video_bochs
insmod video_cirrus
}

terminal_input console
terminal_output console
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
if background_color 44,0,30; then
clear
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
set gfxpayload="$1"
if [ "$1" = "keep" ]; then
set vt_handoff=vt.handoff=7
else
set vt_handoff=
fi
}
if [ ${recordfail} != 1 ]; then
if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
set linux_gfx_mode=keep
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=keep
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
export linux_gfx_mode
if [ "$linux_gfx_mode" != "text" ]; then load_video; fi
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-24-generic-pae' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic-pae root=UUID=ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
}
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-24-generic-pae (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f
echo 'Loading Linux 3.2.0-24-generic-pae ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic-pae root=UUID=ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f ro recovery nomodeset
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" --class windows --class os {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root F0360CD9360CA328
chainloader +1
}
menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" --class windows --class os {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 949CA48C9CA46A86
chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=============================== sda5/etc/fstab: ================================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=ee6513db-9fd7-4590-b8a2-569fdc7b3c2f / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=53d90de4-294d-461c-8e46-76d60050e808 none swap sw 0 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=================== sda5: Location of files loaded by Grub: ====================

GiB - GB File Fragment(s)

281.440719604 = 302.194671616 boot/grub/core.img 1
271.691165924 = 291.726168064 boot/grub/grub.cfg 1
272.405277252 = 292.492939264 boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic-pae 2
271.650180817 = 291.682160640 boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic-pae 2
272.405277252 = 292.492939264 initrd.img 2
271.650180817 = 291.682160640 vmlinuz 2

======================== Unknown MBRs/Boot Sectors/etc: ========================

Unknown BootLoader on sda3

00000000 9a 2e 08 c5 94 9d c0 c8 40 7d 86 e9 e7 49 87 78 |........@}...I.x|
00000010 15 aa f4 f2 af 0f 3d e9 15 01 8f 64 2a 98 81 da |......=....d*...|
00000020 34 6e b3 d1 60 05 2f 7e f2 a9 ed a0 a5 57 8a 6e |4n..`./~.....W.n|
00000030 82 91 56 82 17 81 d1 7a a8 25 1c 38 f3 9f 24 74 |..V....z.%.8..$t|
00000040 5c 3f 08 41 08 20 aa a5 c1 04 4a 83 f8 0a 40 3a |\?.A. ....J...@:|
00000050 5e aa aa 5c 1d ab 09 36 13 bc 94 e6 36 ce b6 88 |^..\...6....6...|
00000060 d0 f8 b8 14 2a 95 28 05 0c d5 ef 37 a4 3e 50 4a |....*.(....7.>PJ|
00000070 60 ef fc 6b bb 7f 04 51 e8 b0 e3 bb d3 bb 86 0f |`..k...Q........|
00000080 7a b9 5c 83 3b 8e 9e f4 ef 76 55 b0 b6 7f d1 f2 |z.\.;....vU.....|
00000090 89 40 fb 60 58 56 68 f1 ea 95 2b 52 a7 79 55 4e |.@.`XVh...+R.yUN|
000000a0 c8 3b 6c d0 b9 84 6e 38 b6 d4 d8 06 3f 8d 50 72 |.;l...n8....?.Pr|
000000b0 9f 38 02 70 bf be af 01 a8 49 d5 f9 5a 81 13 d7 |.8.p.....I..Z...|
000000c0 57 9a b8 82 b9 c7 13 d5 50 3b a3 a1 0d 91 45 ec |W.......P;....E.|
000000d0 5d 01 11 70 28 e3 33 13 cf 94 0c 22 92 f5 c4 84 |]..p(.3...."....|
000000e0 7e 1f 8b 71 58 19 98 40 0c 85 f8 6f c0 3a d2 8d |~..qX..@...o.:..|
000000f0 07 47 e7 69 70 f8 1d 70 86 80 7d 06 06 d1 61 59 |.G.ip..p..}...aY|
00000100 ce 0f 9b 07 50 3e 1a 13 5c 02 6e 1d 0f a8 8e aa |....P>..\.n.....|
00000110 d0 27 5c ae 28 f0 1a 2e 50 5a 2e e6 1b 3c 9e 81 |.'\.(...PZ...<..|
00000120 60 b4 75 49 b5 bc 22 07 1d 0f bd df 01 fe af ff |`.uI..".........|
00000130 e1 59 f0 7f 74 56 f0 39 ea cf c6 a3 a0 70 2e 0e |.Y..tV.9.....p..|
00000140 32 17 e9 e2 eb ef c6 14 fc 0a 4d c4 d4 8d 97 fe |2.........M.....|
00000150 77 7b 3d f6 4f 87 51 b0 9d 71 81 b7 a3 cd 9d 7a |w{=.O.Q..q.....z|
00000160 71 1c 65 0c df 79 77 6c 60 85 bc 66 33 ee cc 6c |q.e..ywl`..f3..l|
00000170 9e 51 fc ce 49 97 cd bc d6 6e 9e 74 c9 7a 48 f1 |.Q..I....n.t.zH.|
00000180 df 87 be f2 bb 8a 74 b0 e8 ff ac 61 38 ad 8f 43 |......t....a8..C|
00000190 03 f0 77 93 d2 12 0f 75 a6 38 a1 37 79 05 8d 6f |..w....u.8.7y..o|
000001a0 29 25 b0 f8 ff 38 05 f4 9f 96 f2 18 27 c1 c4 70 |)%...8......'..p|
000001b0 52 b4 22 61 6a 45 40 e4 be 26 56 5c af 27 00 fe |R."ajE@..&V\.'..|
000001c0 ff ff 83 fe ff ff 02 00 00 00 00 08 14 02 00 fe |................|
000001d0 ff ff 05 fe ff ff 8b 0d 14 02 77 ea 5b 00 00 00 |..........w.[...|
000001e0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 |................|
000001f0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 55 aa |..............U.|
00000200


========= Devices which don't seem to have a corresponding hard drive: =========

sdb

=============================== StdErr Messages: ===============================

No volume groups found

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 09:32 PM
Script looks good windows looks bootable, have you run this command in the ubuntu that is installed, not a live cd.


sudo update-grubIf you have and do not see windows show in the terminal readout then install gparted.


sudo apt-get install gpartedOpen gparted and right click the sda1 partition then manage flags then click boot, this puts a bootflag on that partition and makes it active.

218013

Then run the update grub command again. Basically grub should boot windows without the flag, but glitches do happen.

Running the update-grub command reloads the grub menu, in grub is a OS finder called os-prober this searches for other operating system to add to the boot menu.

It may be that the sda2 partition is the one that is supposed to be active, it is a recovery partition, I'm wary of having you start there, as it may trigger a recovery which probably can be stopped but you never know.

listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 09:55 PM
after entering sudo update-grub into the terminal it looks like this...

drew@TheUbuntuBrain:~$ sudo update-grub
[sudo] password for drew:
Generating grub.cfg ...
using custom appearance settings
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
No volume groups found
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda1
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda2
done
drew@TheUbuntuBrain:~$

-------------------------

i am able to see windows in the readout... i took a screenshot of the terminal, but I'm not sure how to go about showing it to you on this...

i clicked to the advanced settings and clicked the attachments icon to see if i could allow you to see it. I don't think it worked though

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 10:00 PM
after entering sudo update-grub into the terminal it looks like this...

drew@TheUbuntuBrain:~$ sudo update-grub
[sudo] password for drew:
Generating grub.cfg ...
using custom appearance settings
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic-pae
No volume groups found
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda1
Found Windows Vista (loader) on /dev/sda2
done
drew@TheUbuntuBrain:~$

-------------------------

i am able to see windows in the readout... i took a screenshot of the terminal, but I'm not sure how to go about showing it to you on this...

i clicked to the advanced settings and clicked the attachments icon to see if i could allow you to see it. I don't think it worked though

Looks good you may see two windows choices in the grub menu now, one is the main OS to get to Vista and the other is to the recovery, so be careful if you see two that you choose the correct one.

Reboot and boot to vista from the grub menu.

listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 10:26 PM
alrighty, this is where the problem starts..

when it loads the Bios Screen in the beginning of the bootup it goes to where i can choose from the 4 options (as stated in my private msg. to you. when i choose either windows one, the screen goes black, then says:

error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.

Then, about 10 seconds later, underneath the 4 error msgs. it says something like,

No video mode activated

then, 20 seconds later it says:

A disk read error occurred
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart, and repeats this process until I choose the Ubuntu choice or the other Ubuntu Recovery Choice.

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 10:44 PM
alrighty, this is where the problem starts..

when it loads the Bios Screen in the beginning of the bootup it goes to where i can choose from the 4 options (as stated in my private msg. to you. when i choose either windows one, the screen goes black, then says:

error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.
error: no device connected.

Then, about 10 seconds later, underneath the 4 error msgs. it says something like,

No video mode activated

then, 20 seconds later it says:

A disk read error occurred
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart, and repeats this process until I choose the Ubuntu choice or the other Ubuntu Recovery Choice.

If you have not installed gparted, and put the boot flag on the sda1 partition, do this now, then run the update-grub again. Then reboot to check the boot.

Look to see as well by mounting the sda1 in gparted or from home then right click information on the sda1 partition in gparted. That partition may need a chkdsk /r run, by using a vista recovery or install disc and its recovery terminal. The information in gparted may give a clue as to any anomalies in the sda1 partition.

The vista's boot can also be rebuilt if needed from the recovery terminal as well.

Do you have a vista recovery or install disc to do any rebuilds, or just load the vista bootloader back so we can see if vista just boots straight in.

When people install Ubuntu and let it resize windows partitions or just do it with gparted this has been known to cause failures in windows.

Did you resize the vista C called sda1 in Ubuntu, and or use another partitioner and check that vista still booted, and let the auto-chkdsk run as well, before the Ubuntu install?

listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 11:11 PM
I have g-parted installed, and sda1 is flagged to boot, and i have ran the sudo update-grub in terminal.

In GParted, when i right click sda1's information, it says,

File System: ntfs
Size: 168.94 GiB
Unused: 136.27 GiB (81%)
Flags: boot

Path: dev/sda1
Status: Not Mounted
Label: Compaq
UUID: Not sure if I should put this...

First Sector: 63
Last Sector: 354289663
Total Sectors:354289601

I don't know how to have it say "Mounted" in the proper field but, when i right click /dev/sda1 and the mini-menu pops up unmounted is grey...

I don't have a Vista recovery CD or an Installation Disk.

I did resize/created the partition in Ubuntu.

I don't recall checking to see if Vista would still boot after the initial partitioning and installtion of Ubuntu.

I do remember restarting or shutting my computer down, and being anxious to learn of Ubuntu and use it so I didnt think to check Vista at that time. Then tried going to Vista at a later time and not being able to...

Does this info help at all?

jawilljr
May 15th, 2012, 11:20 PM
listentounderthegiven,

Please read this, (http://www.thpc.info/how/use_gparted_to_resize_windows_7_vista_partition.ht ml) and espicially this (http://www.thpc.info/how/use_gparted_to_resize_windows_7_vista_partition.ht ml#hlp)

Windows 7, Vista repair discs. (http://neosmart.net/blog/2009/windows-7-system-repair-discs/)

The repair discs used to be free...of course M$ changed that. (http://neosmart.net/blog/2011/windows-recovery-discs-updated-reinstated/) It know costs $9.75 per disc.

Hope you get your system back up.

Jerry

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 11:22 PM
I have g-parted installed, and sda1 is flagged to boot, and i have ran the sudo update-grub in terminal.

In GParted, when i right click sda1's information, it says,

File System: ntfs
Size: 168.94 GiB
Unused: 136.27 GiB (81%)
Flags: boot

Path: dev/sda1
Status: Not Mounted
Label: Compaq
UUID: Not sure if I should put this...

First Sector: 63
Last Sector: 354289663
Total Sectors:354289601

I don't know how to have it say "Mounted" in the proper field but, when i right click /dev/sda1 and the mini-menu pops up unmounted is grey...

I don't have a Vista recovery CD or an Installation Disk.

I did resize/created the partition in Ubuntu.

I don't recall checking to see if Vista would still boot after the initial partitioning and installtion of Ubuntu.

I do remember restarting or shutting my computer down, and being anxious to learn of Ubuntu and use it so I didnt think to check Vista at that time. Then tried going to Vista at a later time and not being able to...

Does this info help at all?

So you ran a reboot though to check the boot on the vista after the bootflag was set correct. IF this was done the first time that is okay I just want a confirmation on this.

Yes the info does help.

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 11:30 PM
Lets load a bootloader that will boot vista straight in. If it boots vista after a install of this loader in Ubuntu but wants a check disc let it run.

So go to the ubuntu software center top left corner hit edit then software sources then find the universe repo and make sure it is clicked on first tab second box that can be ticked.

Then run this command after closing the windows and the software center.


sudo apt-get updateThen follow this.


sudo apt-get install lilo


sudo lilo -M /dev/sda mbr
May show error messages about the rest of lilo missing, ignore, we just want MBR

reboot to see if vista boots and let any disc checks happen, it will reboot itself to vista hopefully after this.

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 11:34 PM
listentounderthegiven,

Please read this, (http://www.thpc.info/how/use_gparted_to_resize_windows_7_vista_partition.ht ml) and espicially this (http://www.thpc.info/how/use_gparted_to_resize_windows_7_vista_partition.ht ml#hlp)

Windows 7, Vista repair discs. (http://neosmart.net/blog/2009/windows-7-system-repair-discs/)

The repair discs used to be free...of course M$ changed that. (http://neosmart.net/blog/2011/windows-recovery-discs-updated-reinstated/) It know costs $9.75 per disc.

Hope you get your system back up.

Jerry

Thanks but there is a bootloader that can be used, please be careful about just posting when it is obvious that work is getting done, and any additions may cloud the situation, please. :)

Testdisk at this point is not needed and if run wrong can brick the OS before a backup can be done .

listentounderthegiven
May 15th, 2012, 11:36 PM
thank you im reading this now! thanks again.

jawilljr
May 15th, 2012, 11:40 PM
Thanks but there is a bootloader that can be used, please be careful about just posting when it is obvious that work is getting done, and any additions may cloud the situation, please. :)

Testdisk at this point is not needed and if run wrong can brick the OS before a backup can be done .

*snip*

I was just trying to give the OP some more information... also sometimes you have to repair windows with the install cd after resizing with gparted.

Jerry

darkod
May 15th, 2012, 11:50 PM
I agree with the idea of wilee about installing generic mbr using part of lilo. Since it acts like windows bootloader, vista might offer to run a chkdsk.

Also, don't forget that you can get windows advanced options with F8. If booting vista automatically still doesn't work after the installation of the generic mbr, try hitting F8 when it starts booting and the bios messages go away. That should open the advanced menu.

Try the Safe Mode first. If you are lucky it will load it, or at least give a message and offer chkdsk to be done.

wilee-nilee
May 15th, 2012, 11:55 PM
I agree with the idea of wilee about installing generic mbr using part of lilo. Since it acts like windows bootloader, vista might offer to run a chkdsk.

Also, don't forget that you can get windows advanced options with F8. If booting vista automatically still doesn't work after the installation of the generic mbr, try hitting F8 when it starts booting and the bios messages go away. That should open the advanced menu.

Try the Safe Mode first. If you are lucky it will load it, or at least give a message and offer chkdsk to be done.

Thanks darkod, I always appreciate you stopping by. :)

listentounderthegiven
May 16th, 2012, 12:50 AM
yes, i restarted my computer and it goes to the loader and i can only choose ubuntu or the ubuntu recovery mode, But i see these to choices with 2 windows vista options, when i try those it tries to load but stops with a ctrl+alt+delete to restart as my only option.

darkod
May 16th, 2012, 12:53 AM
Did you install the lilo mbr with the commands in post #12?

If you did that, it can't show the grub menu any more, and it should try to boot vista directly.

listentounderthegiven
May 16th, 2012, 01:05 AM
I just did what was said in post 12, I must have completely missed it, thanks for your patience. I'm gonna restart now and see what happens.

listentounderthegiven
May 16th, 2012, 01:24 AM
Awesome, It worked I'd like to thank you guys for the help. Thank you so much.

darkod
May 16th, 2012, 01:28 AM
There still might be some errors which could be causing grub2 not to load it correctly. Otherwise, it should work in grub2 also, when you select the Vista (/dev/sda1) entry.

Now that you have windows running, open a command prompt as administrator and just to make sure there are no errors, try:
chkdsk c: /r /f

It might take a while to finish.

After that you can start considering reinstalling grub2 to the MBR of the disk.