PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] gcc complains: assignment from incompatible pointer type

Chiel92
May 15th, 2012, 01:37 PM
Hi all,

I am a c noob and I'm experiencing problems with my program.
I have the following code:

typedef struct
{
char ***state;
struct Node *parent;
} Node;

Node* NodeInit(Node *node, char ***state, Node *parent)
{
(*node).state = state;
(*node).parent = parent;
return node;
}But it gives the following error:

40:17: warning: assignment from incompatible pointer type [enabled by default]where line 40 is the line which states: "(*node).parent = parent;"

What am I doing wrong?
Any help is appreciated.

Regards

dwhitney67
May 15th, 2012, 02:24 PM
What am I doing wrong?

The problem lies with how you have your struct defined; try something like this:

typedef struct Node <-- Add Node label here
{
char ***state;
struct Node *parent;
} Node;

I wish I had a good answer as to why the compiler doesn't complain at the structure, but instead complains at the code (as you found out).

Btw, out of curiosity, what are your plans for 'state'. Is it going to be an two-dim array of strings?

trent.josephsen
May 15th, 2012, 03:17 PM
Better yet, eliminate the typedef altogether. typedef should be used to make code clearer, not to avoid typing 'struct' when the code in question needs to know that node is, in fact, a struct.

I regret that propriety and the forum rules do not permit me to use more forceful terms in admonishing this practice, which I revile with a burning passion. No offense to OP, because I'm sure you innocently copied it from someone else (who should know better), but it's something I see frequently and it irks me every single time.

Chiel92
May 15th, 2012, 05:05 PM
Thanks for your quick replies!
dwhitney67: Your suggestion solves the problem, though I do not understand exactly why it works.