PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need help dual-booting Windows 7 and Ubuntu

pepperjinks
May 14th, 2012, 01:54 AM
I'm new to Linux; received my friend's old laptop after he bought a new one. It's an HP, came pre-installed with Vista. 1GB RAM, one HDD with 120GBs, Athlon 64 X2 1.7GHz processor. I want to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu because I can't afford to upgrade the hardware components right now and I know Ubuntu will run faster; I'll be using Windows 7 for games (compatibility) and Ubuntu for everything else.

I've done some reading. My intention is to create a Windows partition, an Ubuntu partition, and a data partition that can be shared between the two OSes should the need arise. There are just a lot of other things involved; a swap partition, for example (I don't understand what this is about--I assume it's for switching between the OSes).

Basically, I want to know:
which partitions to create;
how much space I should allocate for each of them;
and how to set them all up when I install Windows 7, since that's the OS I need to install first.

Again, I only have 120 GBs to throw around, so I'll need some help with that. I have the most current version of Ubuntu burned to a DVD-RW (I did that yesterday). I also have an Active Killdisk DVD-RW that I'll use to wipe the hard drive.

Explanations for what I'm doing would be great. Any reading you think would help me would be awesome too.

Thanks in advance. If I've left anything important out, just let me know.

wilee-nilee
May 14th, 2012, 02:15 AM
This is a killer site for all kinds of stuff including dual booting.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~herman546/index.html

jadtech
May 14th, 2012, 02:24 AM
im sure there will be a few people all with varied Idea's on partitioning I think just 50/ 50 would work in fact 50 or 60 gigs most likely will be way more then you will ever need for ubuntu ..