PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New installation of 12.04 Issues

UM3BUNTU
May 10th, 2012, 07:08 PM
Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.

System Specs:

Acer AS 1410
CPU: Intel Core 2 Solo SU3500
Video: Intel GMA 4500MHD
RAM: 4GB

Issue:

I apologize if I'm vague or unclear at any point. I am fairly new to Ubuntu and have only played around with it a couple of times.

I wiped the computer and did a clean install of Ubuntu 12.04. No issues during install and format ran without a hitch. I then ejected the CD and rebooted the computer. Upon reboot, I was taken to the GRUB menu to select to boot to Ubuntu or Recovery mode. Attempting a normal boot bring up either a completely blank screen with no error message or a black screen with flashing cursor.

Attempting to boot into Recovery Mode brings up a host of messages; the last one being '[33.362505] ata1: EH complete' but then the system just hangs there. I have attempted a clean install of Ubuntu multiple times and have confirmed that the Live CD works with no problems.

I have seen a few forums where it's said that the nVidia drivers may play a part in this issue but have not seen any definite fixes that I could do. The only thing I haven't tried so far is a complete wipe of the drive with DBAN and attempting another install. Let me know if I need to provide any additional information and thank you for any help with this issue.

Mark Phelps
May 10th, 2012, 08:17 PM
The black screen with flashing cursor is normal. It will stay like that for a while and then go completely black. Ubuntu 12.04 can take some time to boot. Give it a few minutes and see if the flashing cursor remains.

Jack the R
May 10th, 2012, 08:17 PM
Maybe something in this thread will work - Link (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1965820)

I've read about the nvidia problem while trying to solve my problem ( I don't have an nvidia card), and it appears to be solveable. The answers you want are out there.

darkod