PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Installation Help Acer Netbook

Del64
May 9th, 2012, 08:15 PM
Hello,

I recently wanted to try out the windows installation of Linux though windows on my new netbook. The PC is an 64bit Acer Aspire One 722. I decided to try Kubuntu since I like KDE bit better.

I am still fairly new to Linux so I am unsure what the problem may be here: The software installed fine on Windows end however when I attempt to boot into Kubuntu the screen boots normally, the mouse appears and then freezes. This does this upon every boot option.

I attached the following screenshots below: One in verbose the other in a normal boot.

I uninstalled and re-installed this with no luck of success.

Is there anything I can do to fix this?

cortman
May 9th, 2012, 09:12 PM
I had the same problem on my Acer Aspire One 722 as well. Thankfully there's a very simple, albeit puzzling fix: On bootup press F2 to go into BIOS, and change the boot order to network boot FIRST. Save and reboot.
I wrote up some stuff about Linux on the 722 here (http://cortman.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/linux-on-acer-aspire-one-722-0369/), you may or may not find it interesting. Good luck!
EDIT: I think it's F2. It may be some other F key, it'll say at the Acer splash screen.

Del64
May 9th, 2012, 10:47 PM
That did not work, I even plugged it into the router with the same results.

cortman
May 9th, 2012, 10:58 PM
AFAIK this is a well known problem, and this fix has never failed that I've seen. I'm not sure what your level of proficiency is; but are you sure you're changing the dedicated boot order, and not just choosing to boot from a different device (which is a one-time action)?

Del64
May 9th, 2012, 11:18 PM
Yes. I have changed the order in the BIOS to boot from the network, some Atheros driver, first. All it does is say wired connection failed and exiting this boot which leads to the windows boot manager where I select either Windows or Kubuntu.