PDA

View Full Version : What is your favourite VOIP client for SIP telephony?

dzsobacsi
May 7th, 2012, 01:58 PM
Currently I use Twinkle but I really hate it. My wireless headset acts as a separate audio card and this circumstance makes the usage of this piece quite painful.
I tried Ekiga but it did not connect.
I tried Empathy which works but it seems that I cannot save a contact if it is only a phone number and does not belong to any IM provider.
(I have a subscription at Voipalot.)

===============================================
Update:

Well, that is not a lot of votes until now. But I have tried Linphone and it seems to be working flawlessly.
I am still curious about the results anyway.

VanillaMozilla
May 8th, 2012, 04:58 PM
Twinkle. Because it works, and works well. I tried several others that didn't work at all. And very good rates and other services with DiamondCard.

There's also a nice, prominent Java program (name has been changed) that I liked a lot.

VanillaMozilla
May 8th, 2012, 05:30 PM
Dzso Bacsi, try Jitsi. The last time I looked it was excellent. I must say Twinkle is also excellent, although I haven't had your problem. You will probably have to adjust the microphone volume with the operating system. If you are using Ubuntu, that is on the Sound Preferences thing.

Docaltmed
May 8th, 2012, 06:39 PM
Empathy is the only one that works decently at all, imho. Twinkle is nice, but the UI is so dated that it makes my eyes hurt. Jitsi has never worked for me, across 5 computers and two releases. Linphone is what I use for my diamondcard account on my smartphone. Works great there, can't even find it's way to the door on my computer.

Basically, most of the others don't work at all for me. And though the Empathy VOIP interface is umm, less than optimal, it works and the software is integrated into the desktop.

I don't really ask for all that much.

gradinaruvasile
May 8th, 2012, 07:37 PM