PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I instal Intel PRO wireless 3945ABG driver in Ubuntu 12.04

VictoriousONE
May 7th, 2012, 01:50 AM
I am totally lost on this. I have spent days and days searching the Internet for a solution to this issue but I have gotten nowhere so far. Can anyone here walk me through the procedures to get my wireless card drivers installed in Ubuntu 12.04? I am new to Ubuntu, so, it will have to be a step by step process, but, I can follow instructions very well if given the right directions. Your help will be extremely appreciated.

VictoriousONE
May 7th, 2012, 01:24 PM
Did I say something wrong or is this just a slow moving forum? Sure could use a hand with this problem.

Pilot6
May 7th, 2012, 02:17 PM
You do not need any drivers for that adapter. Driver is included unto kernel and installed automatically.
What is your problem? You cannot setup a wireless connection or what?

darkod
May 7th, 2012, 02:19 PM
What is actually going on, it doesn't exist as a network adapter?

If you open terminal and type:
ifconfig

do you see your wi-fi adapter there?

VictoriousONE
May 7th, 2012, 02:35 PM
Yes, I am trying to set up a wireless connection. Below is what I get when I enter ifconfig.

vic@vic-Aspire-5610:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b0:f2:24:a5
inet addr:192.168.1.102 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:fef2:24a5/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:28275 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:31821399 (31.8 MB) TX bytes:947012 (947.0 KB)
Interrupt:21

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:206 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:206 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:22468 (22.4 KB) TX bytes:22468 (22.4 KB)