PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual boot fail, live cd and boot-repair fail

SixOfOne
May 6th, 2012, 04:04 AM
Simple problem, or so I thought, Windows XP crashed on a HDD running it and Ubuntu 11.04.
HDD is 640 gig, 200 for windows, 210 for Ubuntu and the rest NTFS storage area.
I knew that installing XP again would wipe the MBR so Ubuntu didn't appear as an option, but as i had both the live cd and the boot-repair cd to boot into i thought i would be fine..

Sadly this isn't the case,
1-boot to boot-repair and it hangs forever on searching, tells me to wait a few minutes, you can wait forever and nothing happens.
2-boot to live cd , instal and run boot-repair and the same thing happens.

Live cd allows me to see everything, but i can't seem to be able to fix the MBR.

So accepting i'm a Linux novice, but can take instructions, can anyone help me repair the MBR

Thanks in advance

For the record, i bought another HDD, 1T, installed XP first into a 300gig partition, created a second 300 gig partition for storage, an 8 gig swap, 20 gig / and the rest 180gig? /home.

As XP cant deal with Sata, i had to set the bios to native EIDE which was fine. Xp installed flawlessly, but i had problems with Ubuntu, turns out having dual monitors confused it and i had to go into the bios and chose "onboard graphics" to get see the installation.
For whatever reason, i can choose Ubuntu but it goes so far and the screens both go black..... doesn't matter if i choose PCI or onboard graphics.

I must be doing something different, as the pc in its current config has successfully installed both before.

oldfred
May 6th, 2012, 04:50 AM
Your native IDE mode may prevent the system from booting beyond a certain point on drive.

I gave up on Windows when I converted to AHCI for my new SSD. Supposedly you can install SATA & AHCI drivers for XP but it is a lot easier to do as part of the install. SATA drives worked with my XP but AHCI does not.

Post link to results from Boot_Info.