PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Live USB stuck on Ubuntu logo

sasasas
April 30th, 2012, 04:18 AM
Hello,

I bought a brand new hard drive and decided to install ubuntu on it. I am a beginner with Linux and might have destroyed my hard drive :(

Please help me to recover my hard drive and install linux on it.

I first burnt an image of the ubuntu live cd onto a usb. Using the usb with the new hard drive I got to the screen that says Try or Install. I clicked on Install. It went through the steps until it said ext4 file system failed. I then rebooted and deleted all the partitions and quit. After restarting, the system is stuck on the ubuntu logo. It does not go any further. What should I do?

oldfred
April 30th, 2012, 04:33 AM
Some systems seem to lock-up after issues. Try a total power off, or if a laptop remove battery. Then in BIOS choose to boot USB.

What system is it and what video card do you have? It would be best to try ubuntu first to make sure you do not have any major issues.

I prefer to partition in advance and then use manual install. Ubuntu will normally install to one large / (root ) partition and swap. Better to have /home separate or separate data partitions. Or you may want other partitions.

gparted & fdisk instructions:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingANewHardDrive
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowtoPartition/OperatingSystemsAndPartitions

Basics of partitions:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disk_partitioning
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowtoPartition

GParted partitioning software - Full tutorial
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/gparted.html
Screenshots of using gparted
http://www.howtoforge.com/partitioning_with_gparted

sasasas
May 11th, 2012, 06:32 AM
Hello,

I replaced the hard drive with a new one, but ubuntu does not load from the usb drive. I went into bios and there is no usb listed in the boot devices. All I have is CD, FDD, LAN and Harddrive. What do I do now? Please help me install ubuntu.

efflandt