PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Installer Is Crap

Johnsie
June 15th, 2006, 01:35 AM
Don't get me wrong, I love Ubuntu and think it's the best thing since slice bread but I think the installer could be made a lot more simple for new users.

Ununtu can be tricky for new users to install. It's especially strange when it comes to installing a dual boot for the first time.

Ubuntu just need to get the finger out and make the installer much, much simpler for new users. I'm a software engineer and found everything ok on my first go except for the partitioner. It took me a few goes to get the right settings for that and the whole time I was worried that I'd wipe the owners Windows partition.

The people at Ubuntu really need to understand that the average computer knows very little about how data storage actually works, especially partitioning.

There needs to be an option in the official Ubuntu installer that asks whether the user wants to do a beginners installation or an advanced installation.

Everything needs to be clear and simple (Keep it simple stupid) and then Ubuntu truly can be "Linux for Humans"

Ubuntu is great, fast, stable and simple once it's installed but the installer is one of Ubuntus biggest downfalls and needs to be a priority for the next release.

Maybe a good way of getting a decent installer made would be by getting a random group of people, asking them to install Ubuntu on a machine and taking notes on what problems they had. Kinda like a survey with people from all ages who may or may not be good with computers.

IYY
June 15th, 2006, 01:39 AM
Have you used the graphical installer that comes with Dapper, or are you talking about the text-based Breezy installer?

grsing
June 15th, 2006, 02:03 AM