PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] About to abandon Ubuntu - cannot install

olddave1
April 28th, 2012, 12:55 PM
Hi,

I have been using Ubuntu for about 4 years. I am a developer, so need a fast, safe and stable machine. I am on my 3rd spinning HDD failure in those 4 years. So now I want to take advantage of 2 60GB SSDs I bought. To me that means RAID1 for /boot (safe), and a LVM striped for speed (fast) (I also need about 120BG, in fact my / on the failed HDD is 119GB). Also like to rsync my ~ across, dd proved to be a disaster, so slow.

Sadly, this seem impossible to achieve on Ubuntu 11.10 see here -
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1887094&page=4

So is there a distro that can support this type of configuration? Is there an alternate way of installing on Ubuntu that will support the configuration? Also researching to see if this is easy on Windows 7, £80 is a small price to pay for an easy life.

Thx.

David

darkod
April 28th, 2012, 01:48 PM
I assume you tried 12.04 and it doesn't work too?

One thing I would try and that I mentioned in your other thread, is to configure the SSDs with msdos table. You have no benefit from the gpt table that I can see, and using a msdos table will allow you not to need the bios_grub partition. Makes it simpler. Who knows, maybe it will change something for the better.

The bios_grub is not needed just because of grub2. It is needed for grub2 only on gpt because the MBR section of gpt disks is smaller. If you use msdos table grub2 works just fine without that small partition. I would give it a shot.

olddave1
April 28th, 2012, 04:30 PM
So I just delete that 1MB partition at the start of the disk and then run boot-repair and that by default will add a mbr?

I don't want to waste yet more time trying 12.04, unless someone actually knows it has changed from 11.10 in terms of supporting 2 SSD with RAID1 for /boot and LVM striped for /. At the moment I am losing lots of work time, not a good thing.