PDA

View Full Version : Why do you hate Unity?

Primefalcon
April 28th, 2012, 06:05 AM
this is a question diected purely at the people who hate Unity....

Do you really find unity that bad? Myself as a programmer I do like unity, it allows me to get at the programs that I want quckly without hving to use the mouse at all, and the new HUD is beatiful it allows me to have the bookmark toolbar in ff hidden since I now have a super quick way to launch bookmark items!

People I've spoken to who have no idea what linux even is that I demo Ubuntu to seem to really like it as well... So really what do you find that is so bad about unity? is it just hate of change or?

Rodney9
April 28th, 2012, 06:30 AM
I don't hate Unity, I hate using keyboards, I'm a lousy typist, I prefer the mouse.

So as I see it, Unity is aimed at keyboard users.

I like the simplicity of Xubuntu 12.04

Rodney

cbennett926
April 28th, 2012, 06:40 AM
Shouldn't this be in recurring discussions? Moderator!!!! :)

But, I just dislike the lack of smart auto-hide on the launcher now :'(

QIII
April 28th, 2012, 06:46 AM
I don't hate it.

I dislike it. I'd live with it on a mobile device. I realize that is where the world is going, and I'm not so old yet that I'm stubborn (OK, well sometimes I'm not stubborn. OK, well mostly I am. But I like puppies.)

As a software developer I don't care for it because it doesn't fit what I do.

That doesn't make it bad. It just means it's not for me.

Kubuntu has a "HUD" of sorts, too. If I click off in an open area and start typing I get a nice little box to type in an app I want to start. If I type "libre" I get a nice little drop-down with all of the Libre Office components to select from.

Primefalcon
April 28th, 2012, 07:04 AM
I agree Unity does need a better program browsing, have to open the menu.. switch to applications, show all installed and then clicking the filter is kinda hefty... and hopefull will be more refined in future versions...