PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] New to Lubuntu

CommuneOfLoon
April 27th, 2012, 01:44 AM
I recently decided I wanted to give Lubuntu a try on my old Dell laptop. I am not computer savvy, and other than running Ubuntu 10.04 for the past year and a half, I have no experience with other Linux distros.

I used these instructions (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu/Documentation/UpgradeToLubuntu) to upgrade from Ubuntu 10.04 to Lubuntu 12.04; I used these instructions (http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/purelxde) plus the modifications in the former instructions to supposedly wipe Ubuntu and GNOME from my computer. That said, I have no idea if it actually worked. The output I got was this:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package aisleriot is not installed, so not removed
Package apg is not installed, so not removed
E: Couldn't find package appmenu-gtk

Does this mean I have a clean install of Lubuntu, or how would I check if I'm running it on top of Ubuntu still?

Another issue: in trying to get rid of Chromium, I was prompted that I must remove Lubuntu Desktop Environment (trying to remove Bluetooth also prompted this) and Java plugin; I'm not sure what to make of this. Also, I only found Ubuntu Software Center and Synaptic for a software programs. Should this be changed to a Lubuntu version of these?

One final question: now that I am running Lubuntu, are there programs that I should remove from my Ubuntu install because they will not work as well as the ones provided with Lubuntu?

Might be worth mentioning, the computer is a dual-boot with a small Windows XP partition.

Thanks!

CLCressman
April 27th, 2012, 03:29 AM