PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 11.10 server stops working

Garinil
April 25th, 2012, 04:49 PM
Greetings Community,

Currently, I am using the machine as a LAMP and vsftpd. I believe when I installed the server, I also installed the mail server and DNS, but have not used them.

I have two issues. I would like to uninstall the mail and DNS software, and then figure out why, after about 2-3 days of the server being online, that it goes offline. The machine, is still on physically, but when I attempt to SSH or to reach the web address connected to the machine, I can not. It is like the OS freezes, thought the physical machine is still powered on.

It is Ubuntu 11.10 server edition.
The machine is an eMachine EL1200 with 3GB ram, recently upgraded from 1GB, AMD Athlon processor.

Please, I am very new to linux OS, and I am very interested in learning more.

Regards,
Garinil

d4m1r
April 26th, 2012, 03:30 AM
You are going to have to provide a better description of the problem. Are you still able to ping the IP? Are you running the server at home and you are trying to connect to it from another PC?

More info please.

slugg007
April 26th, 2012, 03:50 AM
Seems like you can do a few things.

Is mail or DNS installed?

Run: dpkg-query --list | less
This shows you the list of installed packages.

Run this from your server:
% nslookup google.com YOUR_SERVER
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

This shows that even DNS is installed it is not working

% telnet YOUR_SERVER 25
Trying <your servers IP>... (wait a few minutes)
^C

This shows that your server is not responding on port 25 (the typical email port)

If mail and DNS are not responding, do you really care if the packages have been installed?