PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub Newbie question

dmz241
April 23rd, 2012, 06:49 PM
This might have been answered before but here goes. Here is what I want to do since I am new to linux. I want to install ubuntu onto an external USB hard drive at the same time I dont want to see the mbr changed so here is what I am planning to do:

I install ubuntu on to the usb while selecting GRUB location to be a USB stick(which is actully a memory card reader with a 128mb sd card)

Now my question here is that will this only show the GRUB menu when I have it boot from usb?
Secondly will I be able to simply take my portable harddrive and the usb stick and use it on all systems like my laptop and desktop(as both of different configirations. But both are x64 varients of the intel cpu)

Any help will be greatly appricated.

jadtech
April 23rd, 2012, 07:24 PM
not sure if that is possible if it is that card reader will have to be a bootable drive you would be ajusting your bios to boot from the card reader first ..

ajgreeny
April 23rd, 2012, 08:20 PM
Forget about using a memory card as well as the external disk. If you choose "Something Else" at the disk preparation stage of the installation to your external drive, you can not only be certain that the OS is put on the external disk, but also that grub is put onto the MBR of your external drive.

So, if we assume your computer has only one internal system disk, /dev/sda, the external USB disk will be /dev/sdb. If you have both your external disk and a memory card attached at the same time, either one could be sdb, and you could possibly confuse both yourself and the installation, so have only one external disk attached at the time to make sure, and then install the OS and grub to the same disk, making sure grub goes on the MBR of the disk, ie /dev/sdb, not to a partition, ie /dev/sdb1.