PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Errors after install - possibly grub?

GingerGraham
April 22nd, 2012, 11:13 PM
Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction to resolve an issue I'm having?

I'm a relative newb to Linux although not to IT in general. I've installed various versions of Ubuntu in to Windows hosted VMs as well as on to a couple of laptops and played about a bit but not much else.

The issue I'm having is on an old HP Compaq nx6310 laptop I have which I'm using to get more in depth with Linux. I did manage to successfully install a 64-bit version of Linux Mint on to it, but after coming up against some issues when trying to install a few bits of software I thought I'd switch to a 32-bit OS instead, which is where my issues began.

When I installed Mint 12 32-bit it wouldn't boot. As soon as the BIOS finished the an error message would appear on screen:

error: out of disk

Nothing else at all.

I then went back to the Mint 12 64-bit which previously worked and the same error came up, again the system would not boot to the installed OS at all. In both cases the install seemed to happen fine with no apparent errors.

I've now tried the 32-bit version of Ubuntu 11.10 and I get the errors as follows:

error: no suitable mode found
error: no video mode activated

All 3 errors appear on screen immediately after BIOS POST, but now after a few seconds Ubuntu does boot and seems to be fine.

After researching the out of disk error I tried re-installing and updating grub as per a number of forum posts without any success. So I'm now at a loss as the hardware is fine and before my messing about the first install of Mint 12 64-bit and before that an XP installation were both working fine.