PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Remove gnome3

Kiraitachi
April 22nd, 2012, 10:36 PM
Hi guys ^^, I've been having this problem quite some long time and I was delaying it, but now that 12.04 is about to come I wanna get a fresh update with clean stuff.

So lets get into the prob:

The thing is that I have ubuntu 11.10 with unity, but wanted the faenza icon theme running and found a workaround installing gnome tweaker tool, but when I installed the "tool" all gnome dependencies got installed also...so now Im having Gnome 3 and Unity, later on I remove the tool but left the gnome 3 environment, I always run Unity and having no prob with it, dont like gnome 3 at all....so

Is there a way to uninstall gnome 3 and just leave Unity as it if came from brand new cd??? I dont wanna get messed up with gnome shell cause I need that for Unity right??

Thanks to any answers, Im a coder and already been 5 years since using ubuntu so I pretty much know my workaround, dont need to get noobish ^^.

Just give me some apt-get remove (the dependencies needed to be removed) that will fix it ^^ thanks!!!!

:popcorn:

3Miro
April 22nd, 2012, 11:30 PM
Unity is just a shell on top of Gnome 3, hence removing Gnome 3 will in fact remove Unity. What you need to remove is not Gnome 3, but Gnome-shell and Gnome-session-fallback. If you remove those two packages, the login scree should go back to just Unit 3D/2D options.

Kiraitachi
April 25th, 2012, 03:22 PM
Unity is just a shell on top of Gnome 3, hence removing Gnome 3 will in fact remove Unity. What you need to remove is not Gnome 3, but Gnome-shell and Gnome-session-fallback. If you remove those two packages, the login scree should go back to just Unit 3D/2D options.

Yes but will that remove all the dependencies packages that came with gnome 3 environment and will be just like a fresh install?? just Unity??

And if thats true, how do I do that???

dino99
April 25th, 2012, 03:44 PM