PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] FTP creation in ubuntu step by step

atultiwari
April 20th, 2012, 01:22 PM
I am very new in ubuntu ..
i need to configure FTP server.

I need to create 5 ftp users and they all are having access of their own folders, no one can access others FTP_Folders assigned by me, Also I need to block them to SSH to the Linux Server.

Thanks in Advance...

AT

MakOwner
April 20th, 2012, 02:00 PM
I am very new in ubuntu ..
i need to configure FTP server.

I need to create 5 ftp users and they all are having access of their own folders, no one can access others FTP_Folders assigned by me, Also I need to block them to SSH to the Linux Server.

Thanks in Advance...

AT

Can you use sftp instead? It's incredibly easy to enable on ubuntu.

sudo apt-get install openssh-server

Any new or existing users will now have shell and sftp access to their home directory.

It's not ftp, but I find it incredibly more useful.

Habitual
April 20th, 2012, 03:44 PM
...Any new or existing users will now have shell and sftp access to their home directory.

It's not ftp, but I find it incredibly more useful.

and secure

anonymouschief
April 20th, 2012, 05:42 PM

Your requirements are:
- ftp users with access to their own folders
- no-one can access others' FTP folders assigned by you
- These ftp users should not have SSH/shell access

As has already been suggested by other users, SFTP is the way to go, as opposed to ftp, because it leverages SSH, which is very secure. The following is a url that shows how to chroot sftp users, and jail them into their own home folders; they will not be able to access any folders other than their own; they will not have shell/ssh access.

Please note that the following url contains insteructions that i have not tested myself. Please backup any configuration files before you make changes to them.

http://www.serverubuntu.it/SFTP-chroot