PDA

View Full Version : Favorite IDE?

TheGuyWithTheFace
April 19th, 2012, 10:24 PM
I'm fairly new to programming, (learning a little html, know some actionscript 2, learning as much python as possible, and want to learn Java and some form of C) and I was wondering if anyone has a favorite IDE, text editor, ect. From what I've seen, I like Ninja IDE for Python, but for some reason I can't change the syntax highlighting, which is frustrating. I'm still looking for something that supports a debugger, syntax highlighting, and some sort of gui editor. Any opinions?

dniMretsaM
April 19th, 2012, 10:34 PM
I always use Emacs to write my code. But for a graphical IDE, your best bet is probably Eclipse. It's pretty resource hungry, so if you need something lightweight, you might want to look into Geany.

TheGuyWithTheFace
April 19th, 2012, 10:38 PM
Yeah, I've heard of eclipse before, guess I should try it! Hold on, though, what's Emacs?

dniMretsaM
April 19th, 2012, 10:58 PM
At the most basic level, Emacs is a text editor. However, it does a ton of other stuff. Email, notes, spreadsheets, browse the web, and even edit videos. It is also highly extensible and there are a ton of addons for just about every thing, including language specific stuff to help you write code more efficiently (debugging, auto-complete, etc. etc.). Here (http://www.gnu.org/software/emacs/) is it's Web site.

TheGuyWithTheFace
April 19th, 2012, 11:01 PM
pretty cool.

donkyhotay
April 19th, 2012, 11:41 PM
I just use gedit, like emacs it's just a text editor but it has some plugins that can make coding easier. I tried eclipse once but it seemed too complex and overkill so I didn't really get into it.

sffvba[e0rt
April 19th, 2012, 11:43 PM
Hold on, though, what's Emacs?

http://stallman.org/saintignucius.jpg

Saint Stallman does not approve of this blasphemy :(

dniMretsaM
April 20th, 2012, 12:14 AM
Saint Stallman does not approve of this blasphemy :(

Lolol!