PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install ubuntu 11.10

killer0ne
April 18th, 2012, 06:39 PM
I have tried to instll ubuntu on my old laptop running win 7 for a week now, but all of my attepts have been unsuccessful so far. I have never used it before so it is very new to me. I have burned 2 discs with different isos and both didn't even get to the installer. First time i saw the installer was with unetbootin and the it showed some error about my cdrom not being able to unmount. I even bought a 4gb usb to install with livelinux and that gave me the same error. My old laptop has an intel 945 motherboard. Please help.

javierc
April 18th, 2012, 06:44 PM
some computer have it so that a virus can't write to the boot sector, the side effect is that you can't install a operating system.

so go to your BIOS and see if that option is there, to disable it

codemaniac
April 18th, 2012, 06:50 PM
Hello killer0ne,
Welcome to the UbuntuForums .!

Cannot you just go ahead with the Unetbootin installer , it should give you a option like install ubuntu in its menu .
Intel 945 is compatible with Linux , so there should be no issues with the chipset and all .

killer0ne
April 18th, 2012, 07:01 PM
Hello killer0ne,
Welcome to the UbuntuForums .!

Cannot you just go ahead with the Unetbootin installer , it should give you a option like install ubuntu in its menu .
Intel 945 is compatible with Linux , so there should be no issues with the chipset and all .

when i use unetbootin installer it gives me the cannot unmount cdrom or something like that and then it just won't install.

some computer have it so that a virus can't write to the boot sector, the side effect is that you can't install a operating system.

so go to your BIOS and see if that option is there, to disable it

i have installed win 7 on it 2 times(before it had vista), so that's not the issue.

codemaniac
April 18th, 2012, 07:05 PM
Can you post the exact error message you are having ?