PDA

View Full Version : Having trouble getting started with C#

ratcheer
April 18th, 2012, 04:50 PM
I am a total newbie with C#, but I am an experienced programmer since the early 1970's. I am trying to learn C# in order to help my wife as she learns it at her job. But, I am having trouble with the tiniest programs from the tutorial I am trying to follow.

My IDE is MonoDevelop 2.6. The first tutorial example, Hello World, compiles and runs perfectly. However, the second program demonstrates a way to pause and accept input from the user. The program compiles and runs, but it skips right past the pause for input and completes, having accepted a null input value that I did not enter. Is the tutorial wrong, did I do something wrong, or is this a bug in MonoDevelop?

Here is the code in question, with the statement that is supposed to pause for input highlighted:

string firstName = "John";
string lastName = "Doe";

Console.WriteLine("Name: " + firstName + " " + lastName);

Console.WriteLine("Please enter a new first name:");
firstName = Console.ReadLine();

Console.WriteLine("New name: " + firstName + " " + lastName);

Console.ReadLine();Tim

11jmb
April 18th, 2012, 06:26 PM
This certianly seems like a bug in Mono. Having never used Mono, I can't tell you for sure, but I've had no problem reading from command line using Console.ReadLine() in VS C# projects

ratcheer
April 18th, 2012, 06:54 PM
Thanks, @11jmb. That is my thought, too. The program is just too simple for it to be a program error. And the tutorial so carefully explained about the ReadLine statement waiting for input, I don't see how that can be wrong, either.

So, my MonoDevelop version 2.6 is from the Ubuntu repos. But the current version is 2.8. I wonder if I could find that and upgrade?

Tim

ratcheer
April 18th, 2012, 07:56 PM
Ok, I figured out how to compile at the command line. Everything I read says use gmcs, but the command with my version of C# is dmcs.