PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DHCP server configuration with attached router?

zkvvoob
April 18th, 2012, 01:10 PM
Hello!

I am relatively new to the server management configuration and I would very much appreciate your help with this task I am faced with.

I have an HP server that I wish to use for various purposes, but mainly as a web server. However, the machine being at home, I would like to find its optimal place in the local network, which, so far, has consisted of two laptops, my cellphone and a wireless router to manage all of them.

What I want to do is to plug the internet cable to one of the NICs of the server, so that it won't be slowed down by the router's poor performance, while at the same time using the second NIC to deliver internet connection to the router and via the router - the the rest of the not-so-speed-dependent devices.

I've followed several guides to set up DHCP3 server, but I encountered several problems, such as the .conf file being placed at a different directory. However, even after finding the configuration and setting it up, the dhcp service reported that there was no subnet configuration for the eth1 interface.

So, I am asking you for help: how should I configure it so that it functions in the way I described above?

Thank you!

sj1410
April 18th, 2012, 01:39 PM
installing and configuring DHCP server on ubuntu is pretty simple, go thru the below link which explains it in detail

http://www.techpage3.com/2012/01/howto-install-configure-dhcp-server-on.html

darkod
April 18th, 2012, 01:49 PM
dnsmasq is a very simple DHCP and DNS forwarding package.
http://wiki.debian.org/HowTo/dnsmasq

You can give it a go if you find it easier to configure.

jason0
April 18th, 2012, 03:33 PM
Hello,

If this is to work you must be certain you can even network directly to your ISP from your server.

My first thought is centered on this comment: