PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nervous user

dee119
April 17th, 2012, 08:12 PM
Hi to all - I wonder if I could ask for some advice please.

As a newbie ( I have limited knowledge with Ubuntu and Linux
in general ) would appreciate your input please regarding my
need to upgrade to a higher version of Ubuntu.

At present I am running Ubuntu 10.10 which has taken me ages to
get set up with different apps and of course the Internet. The latest
version of Ubuntu is now out and my version is out of date and will not
be supported any more.

My question which I hope is not too trivial is this: How long is it possible
for me to continue using Ubuntu 10.10 before I run into trouble with my present
set up?

I realize that this is like asking how long a piece of string is, but I am
really reluctant to change things which are working so well. In fact you could
say I am a bit scared to start messing with things, so your thoughts would be
much appreciated on what to do, or even a simple way to make sure that if I were
to try and upgrade, things would work first time.

I have recently moved house so the Internet is pretty important to me here, with
very few people around to help get me going again, you can see how I need to be
up and running without any Hic Cups.

Many thanks for looking and hope you can help shed some light on what appears
to be a simple problem for the vast majority of the forum.

darkod
April 17th, 2012, 08:46 PM
One way to check if a new release has some issues on your computer (but not a 100% fault proof), is to download the image, burn a cd at slow speed (8x or 10x), boot with it in Try Ubuntu live mode and see how it goes. Most things working in live mode should work out of the box too.
Likewise, most problems you see in live mode will probably be there once you install (or upgrade to) that version.

I would say, wait until April 26th for the 12.04 LTS to be released. Burn a cd with it. Check it out in live mode.