PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please review my partition scheme

charliezen
April 17th, 2012, 07:20 PM
Hi, I am a total noob with Linux.

Brand new computer with 1.5 TB HDD, 6GiB Memory, Windows 7 pre-installed.

I want to double boot with Ubuntu but I do not want to use WUBI. (Nice to discover CD Emulating software though).

This is how the disk is showing now (I have just installed basic programs like Skype, browsers, Foxit, 7Zip, security apps, etc).

sda1----NTFS----PQSERVICE----18G----11.8G-Used----(recovery)
sda2----NTFS----SYSTEM RESERVE----100M----33.59M-Used----boot
sda3----NTFS----MyComputer----1.35T----32G-Used
unallocated----unallocated----1M---

Initially I wanted to get rid of the Recovery and System Reserve partitions, but I have such a huge disk that I guess I can live with them.

QUESTION: does the unallocated space constitutes the fourth primary partition?

So I went and tried shrinking in Windows with no success, even deleting the event cue, defrag and all that but was no use.

Then I discovered the partition managers, a bunch of them out there and settled on GPartED-Live. Burned the ISO and all ran perfect.

Now I want to partition sda4 like this (assuming that I still have sda4 available):

sda4----Extended
----sda5----/boot----256MB----Ext2
----sda6----/(root)----10GB----Ext4 (how much here if I am taking out /usr, /var, etc.)
----sda7----swap----6GB----Ext4
----sda8----/home----30GB----Ext4
----sda9----/usr----2GB----Ext4 (just 2 users, mainly me)
----sda10----/var----3GB----Ext4
----sda11----/tmp----3GB----Ext4
----sda12----/opt----5GB----Ext4
----sda13----/svr----???----Ext4
----sda14----/shared----Rest----NTFS

from /var down (except /shared of course) I have doubts of the space needed. I hare read a bunch of stuff and the numbers go all over the place from really low in the MB to high in the GB, so...

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Carlos

darkod
April 17th, 2012, 07:31 PM