PDA

View Full Version : Ahoy, new user here

kryten2k35
April 14th, 2012, 05:55 PM
Hi guys

I'm new to Linux. Been a Windows user for 15+ years and tinkered with Linux here and there over the years (started with Ubuntu 6.10 year back) but haven't ever really run it as my go-to OS until very recently.

Started off when I needed an OS to put onto a Pentium 4 3GHz 1GB RAM system for my girlfriend to use in her run-from-home eBay business and I ended up with Lubuntu 11.10 32bit. After configuring it and squeezing the last drop of performance out of it I was very happy with the end result. so much so I decided to use it on my Intel i5-2500k@4Ghz, 8GB 1600Mhz RAM, GTX560ti system pretty much 24/7.

Very impressed with the end results of my system and been really enjoying the ecosystem of Lubuntu 11.10 64bit (except a Wifi driver issue, I believe).

Anyway, here's my desktop:

http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/3821/201204141752291680x1050.png

MG&TL
April 14th, 2012, 06:02 PM
Wow, that's a cool desktop. That might go nicely in the screenshot thread :)
Glad you like Lubuntu, remember to update to 12.04 when it comes out soon, there's a load of awesome new stuff as well as the usual updated software.

Welcome to open-source. :)

Make a new thread about your wifi issue and I'm sure somebody can fix it.

kryten2k35
April 14th, 2012, 06:11 PM
Wow, that's a cool desktop. That might go nicely in the screenshot thread :)
Glad you like Lubuntu, remember to update to 12.04 when it comes out soon, there's a load of awesome new stuff as well as the usual updated software.

Welcome to open-source. :)

Make a new thread about your wifi issue and I'm sure somebody can fix it.

Thanks!

Yeah I held off the 12.04LTS beta2 until later in the month when the release drops.