PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Remote fileserver access

AbyssWolf1105
April 12th, 2012, 04:39 AM
Ok. So I set up my Ubuntu 10.04LTS Server on my old rig that was gathering dust in the corner. Best decision I have ever made seeing as how now I have a magic 500GB of space on my computer now made free.

I have a few friends who want to also have access to this rig, some of which live in different states. I was wondering what would be the best way to do this. I tried setting up SSH and Squid tonight. I'm not an Ubuntu pro by any means, so some of this is rather confusing to me.
If someone could point me to the direction of a fairly simple walk-through or spend a little time educating me I'd be ecstatic!

Any questions just ask. I have tomorrow off of work so I'll be messing around with this all day.

CharlesA
April 12th, 2012, 05:59 AM
Check this out:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSH

You probably want to look into port forwarding as well.

Note: If you do decide to use SSH, please use a very strong password or keys to connect as there are bots that will try to bruteforce their way into your server.

cj13579
April 12th, 2012, 01:01 PM
Note: If you do decide to use SSH, please use a very strong password or keys to connect as there are bots that will try to bruteforce their way into your server.

Agree with this - you can also use a package called denyhosts:

sudo apt-get install denyhosts

This scans your SSH logs to find brute-force attacks and then blocks the IPs they came from.

newbie-user
April 12th, 2012, 08:30 PM
If you already have openssh-server installed, then that's basically all you need. You would have to supply your IP address to your friends and then do some port forwarding on your home router. If you have a dynamic IP from your ISP, then you might want to consider signing up for a dynamic DNS service and registering a domain name so that your friends can just connect to yourserver.yourdomain.com.

bubylou
April 12th, 2012, 08:30 PM