PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Slimblade Trackball

questioner1234
April 12th, 2012, 02:38 AM
Hi,
I am a total Linux newbie. I installed Ubuntu 12 today. I am not able to get anything except the scroll wheel and the bottom two buttons working on my Slimblade Trackball from Kensington.

Of course I read the forums and went to Kensington's site and searched Google a number of different ways but I am not finding any answer.

FWIW, I have to "go back" to Windows if I can't get this trackball to work b/c I am reliant on it for my job :(

It seems like there ought to be some way to program all four buttons just as there is in Windows. I really know nothing about Linux or Ubuntu and getting the trackball working is the first order of business fro me. So far, however, no luck.

Can anyone explain in a simple step by step language how to hook this trackball up with a driver?

Thanks in advance!

kurt18947
April 12th, 2012, 07:51 AM
The only possibility I see (though I'm not confident it will help) is try searching "mouse" in Ubuntu software center. There's a mouse & pad configuration utility. I don't know that it will support 3rd & 4th buttons though. Logitech wireless trackballs do use 3rd & 4th buttons as page forward/page back but I don't know that they're easily programmable.

questioner1234
April 17th, 2012, 08:13 PM
For anyone interested at Ubuntu, just because I couldn't get my trackball working, I am not switching to Linux. I would have GLADLY paid 50 or even 100 bucks to have a real alternative to Windows, for a variety of reason including I am a software dev and can't stand their software patent attack on my profession.