PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lenovo s10-3 idea pad won't install the correct Ubuntu.

Morpheas
April 9th, 2012, 12:07 PM
Hello! I got this Lenovo s10-3 laptop for my birthday. I've been trying to get it to work since December & I want beat it senseless.It came with Windows 7 Starter (horrid). All I want is Ubuntu 10.04. I want genome 2 and LTS, I have been using Ubuntu for four years with minimal problems until now.

I used UNetBootin and made a Live USB with Ubuntu 10.04 on it. I used it on two of my friends computers & it worked flawlessly.

With a little research I found out that this is a "solved" issue. I found this blog with instructions (http://technomess.blogspot.com/2010/11/ubuntu-1010-and-lenovo-ideapad-s10-3.html)& I am a bit perplexed by them. I tried for 5~hrs to get it to work then gave up. When I booted it the next day it magically had Ubuntu 11.10 & Windows 7 starter dual boot. I never told the computer to partition or install Ubuntu since I didn't get that far. It wasn't connected to the internet.I have no idea how it installed & updated!
So now I have Ubuntu 11.10 and Windows 7 Starter which are both my last preferences for both Linux and Windows.

I don't know enough about computers to know what the problem is with the Lenovo & installing Ubuntu. I'm guessing it's the bootloader since the instructions I found tell you to edit the kernel boot parameter.
If someone could tell me what exactly the problem is with the Lenovo it would be much appreciated.
If I was to put a different bootloader like "Easy BCD bootloader" would that fix this issue?

Or if I was to use MSDOS command prompt before loading an operating system to format the hard drive & just wipe it clean & start over. Would that work? (I have no clue if that would work)

On the instructions for step 2 it says "When booting the flashdrive or SD card, pres TAB key quickly so you may add the following kernel boot parameter (add this to the end of the line starting with the word "kernel"):