PDA

View Full Version : C learn it or not and who is writing to auth.log and how to modify it?

faifas
April 6th, 2012, 01:57 PM
Hi,

I'm a developer working on web applications. I usually find myself having no knowledge of what happens on my server when I hang out with friends or develop apps. I would like to start working on my own server monitoring system so that I get to know more about servers in general.

My first goal is to decide what language should I develop with. I am really looking forward to learning C, would love to understand how Ruby or PHP works in lower level. Would like to view PHP source and understand it. Sure, it's a long process but I want to start it.

In my opinion developing with C would take more time than installing Ruby or just writing pyhon code.

I can also do stuff in php, but don't really want to.

Do you have any tips for selecting a language for server programming?

I am currently facing an issue that my server starts to have overload (load avg. 4 and more on vps with 1core cpu) because sendmail spawns multiple processes (those that I see when I use top) and my MTA has dkim-filter and dk-filter for signing emails. But when I use top I see only one instance of dk-filter and dkim-filter, so my general idea was to make a program in C (can I do in other?) that would spawn multiple instances of dk-filter and dkim-filter.

My #1 goal, dk-filters problem and article about why learn C (http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/C_Programming/Why_learn_C%3F) has nearly convinced me I should start learning C.

I also need advice on auth.log issue.

Log file has lines like

Apr 6 14:49:53 254740 sshd[20970]: Invalid user ftpuser from 14.139.56.5
Apr 6 14:49:53 254740 sshd[20970]: pam_unix(sshd:auth): check pass; user unknown
Apr 6 14:49:53 254740 sshd[20970]: pam_unix(sshd:auth): authentication failure; logname= uid=0 euid=0 tty=ssh ruser= rhost=mail.nith.ac.in