PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] grub problem

hwy151country
April 5th, 2012, 01:27 PM
i am very much a novice with all of this ,i have installed ,deleting old system,ubuntu.
when prompted to reboot i got the message grub rescue so i ripped the linus riplinux 13.7 and have booted it on the comp and am lost as to how to proceed help! lol

darkod
April 5th, 2012, 01:59 PM
Riplinux? Do you have the ubuntu cd to boot with it in live mode? There will be more people here to help if using the ubuntu cd. I have no knowledge of riplinux.

The first you should try is creating a boot info results either with downloading and running the boot info script from the link in my signature, or running the Boot-Repair tool. That tool might be able to help solve the problem automatically too.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

hwy151country
April 5th, 2012, 02:22 PM
where is that tool?

darkod
April 5th, 2012, 03:02 PM
That link I posted has instructions how to get it and run it. There are few different ways, you can download a stand alone bootable cd with the tool on it, or just install it temporary in live mode and run it, etc.

hwy151country
April 5th, 2012, 03:06 PM
i cant get it to boot up now getting frustrated a little

darkod
April 5th, 2012, 03:14 PM
You can't even boot the ubuntu cd in live mode (Try Ubuntu option) ?

hwy151country
April 5th, 2012, 03:16 PM
i did its showing screen that says waiting for network configuration and has been for a bit

hwy151country
April 5th, 2012, 03:21 PM
let me start from the beginning....i changed the harddrive out on my sons comp.
i replaced it with a used one.I couldnt get the os. to boot up so i tried replacing it with ubuntu it seemed to take forever but finaly it prompted me to remove the cd and reboot thats when i got the grubrescue > prompt

darkod
April 5th, 2012, 06:44 PM
Unfortunately, until you can boot the cd into live mode and run the boot info script to see the results, we are blind.